Little buck hits Vancouver

On September 1st 2016, my sister and mum dropped me off at Gatwick airport and waved me off on my 6 month adventure. First stop: Canada!

After being on the verge of a mini meltdown a few times that day, I sucked it up and got on the plane to Vancouver, riding solo, which feels so scary when you are as small as I am. My friend, who was meant to be coming with me, broke her foot last week so has wisely postponed coming out for a week or two. Fortunately, I was seated next to a very friendly and very Bristolian guy named Kyle, who told me I could share his magic stars with him… sharing chocolate goes a long way in my eyes so we were immediately pals for life.

After a wonderful 10 hour friendship with Bristolian Kyle, we parted ways and I headed off to my hostel continuing to talk myself out of my frequent mini meltdowns. As I arrived in the room at my hostel, I sussed out the bed situation and took a top bunk as I had no choice, but that’s fine as I’ve always liked the top bunk so jokes on everyone else as I’m loving life up here. I got talking to a couple of girls (an Australian and a New Zealander) who asked me if I was a student at the University of British Columbia waiting to move in to my uni accommodation, like they were. I told them I was just traveling and continued chatting. After speaking to many more people at the hostel and being asked what I was here to study countless times, I realised that I was basically crashing their fresher’s week. But fortunately, my student pals adopted me and we had some funfilled adventures together (they told me I reminded them of the inbetweeners – brilliant) before they left to move in to their accommodation. As I said bye to my first Vancouver friends I seriously considered making a last minute application to the University. (Shout out to Grace, Roisin and Georgia).

Above is Lynn Canyon Park in Vancouver; a beautiful place I visited with my UBC pals. It rained a lot… Reminded me of home.

Little buck’s adventures to be continued…

Peace and love people xxx

Leave a Reply

